28 days before

This week I got a payrise, got a bonus, and then resigned from my job of 6 1/2 years. Busy week! Unfortunate timing really – well, unfortunate that they hadn’t given me more payrises and bonuses before, but I’ll take that bonus thanks. No work drama though, this has been in the works for a LONG while, October last year, or even January 2011 I suppose.

japan flight fujiI’m moving to Japan. I’ve probably mentioned it before a long while back, but I had already got a job to teach English out there from August 2011, but for one reason or another that fell through. But that itch needs to be scratched, even if it’s a total disaster (hopefully not), and after a summer that pushed me to – and a few times, past – the breaking point at work, I thought it was time to try again.

Interviewed in November for the same job, assuring them that I was still up to it, and I was not going to pull out unexpectedly, and they said yes. I’ve been sitting on it for a while now though, I never know who reads this thing, but now work knows, I suppose it’s fair game for everyone. So as of April, I’ll be flying to Osaka to live for (at least) a year, and teaching adult Japanese learners how to speak English. Not saying which company though, I’m not getting in trouble!

It’s scary, but at the moment it still feels a little distant – I’m not sure, it’s a bit weird. I don’t need to do much in the way of preparation now though, I’ve got most of the equipment I need. I think I’ll give it a few weeks, no point stewing about it for a whole month.

So that’s that! I’ll try my best to continue the blog, in whatever shape it ends up in – I’m worried my Eurovision coverage might be buggered because of the timing, but I’m going to pre-blog as much as I can before I go, so I hope there’s not much ‘dead time’. There’s even a chance I might not be able to watch the damn thing though… but I shall overcome I’m sure.

Just need to post it on Facebook next… I guess that’s no going back then!

2 Comments

Filed under Talking rubbish again

2 responses to “28 days before

  1. Mike

    Wow, very exciting news! Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

