My Top 40 Movies of 2013

It’s that time of the year when I like to cast an eye back over the 12 months passed. As a warm-up to my 5-day extravaganza of my favourite music of 2013, here are my top 40 movies. Those are all 40 films I’ve seen at the cinema this year, it’s not just an arbitrary cut-off.

Despite a pretty dull Autumn I was a little surprised to have seen so many, exactly double what I watched in 2012! Thanks, Cineworld Unlimited Card… I’ve linked to the reviews where I’ve written one too.

gravity 21. Gravity

2. Thor: The Dark World
3. Star Trek: Into Darkness
4. Man of Steel
5. Frozen

6. The Wolverine
7. Iron Man 3
8. The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
9. Despicable Me 2
10. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

11. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
12. Wreck-it Ralph
13. The Croods
14. Pacific Rim
15. Monsters University
16. Kick-Ass 2
17. The Heat
18. Cloud Atlas
19. Life of Pi
20. Oblivion

21. Ender’s Game
22. The Way, Way Back
23. The Host
24. Carrie
25. The Great Gatsby
26. After Earth
27. Oz: The Great and Powerful
28. Lincoln
29. A Good Day to Die Hard
30. Les Miserables

31. The Butler
32. The Secret Life of Walter Mitty
33. Beautiful Creatures
34. Evil Dead
35. Now you see me
36. G.I. Joe: Retaliation
37. Blue Jasmine
38. Elysium
39. Jack the Giant Slayer
40. The Purge

I have no idea why I didn’t write a “Beautiful Creatures” review, it was a date movie so I was a little distracted. It was pretty blah though, just crushing teen angst from the main cast, and OTT nonsense from the rest, don’t bother!

Looking at the top half of that list though… what a manchild I am! The top 15 are all either male-oriented blockbusters or animated movies, or both! Don’t act like you’re surprised though…

3 Comments

Filed under Films, Reviews

3 responses to “My Top 40 Movies of 2013

  1. Caz

    Great choices your first 5 I think will be in my top 10! Looks like we have very similar tastes in films 🙂

Leave a Reply

