Single: M83 ft Susanne Sundfør – “Oblivion” (2013)

Oh yes, I’m still pushing my Susanne Sundfør agenda, and I’m not done yet, I’ve still got an album to review of hers! Anyway, I somehow missed this track when I saw Tom Cruise movie “Oblivion” earlier in the year.

BW190496_06_05_9_010V3In fact, I don’t really remember much of the soundtrack apart from a vaguely positive feeling. The good reason behind that was that it was produced by in-vogue French electro act M83. If the name isn’t super-familiar maybe you remember “Midnight City”, which was used as backing music to all sorts of things over the last few years.

What is it about the French and electro-synthy music, they definitely seem to have a disproportionate amount of success in this arena, don’t they? While Daft Punk’s “Tron Legacy” soundtrack was a triumph, M83 have similar success with the “Oblivion” title track played during the credits.

susanne sundforSusanne is one of my favourite new discoveries; her voice soars effortlessly, and all the live performances I’ve watched online have been breathtaking. Perhaps “Oblivion” doesn’t have such a demanding melody but it’s still bloody good.

It kicks off rather quickly, straight into some pulsing synths and drums, really heavenly production. Then Susanne is wonderful as usual, with her usual siren delivery of the vocals. Love every moment of it, it’s so grand and sweeping, we are even treated to a blissful little suite after the action to play it out. Gorgeous.

I suppose that means I should put M83 on the ever-increasing list of acts I should listen to more, my work is never done.

2 Comments

Filed under Music, Reviews, Songs

2 responses to “Single: M83 ft Susanne Sundfør – “Oblivion” (2013)

  1. Pingback: Album: Susanne Sundfør – “The Brothel” (2010) | Verbal Diarrhoea

  2. Pingback: My Top 50 of 2013: #20 – #11 | Verbal Diarrhoea

Leave a Reply

