Single: Lady Gaga – “Aura” (2013)

With “ARTPOP” approaching in a month’s time, and the tightly-kept secrets surrounding its release starting to unclench in a flurry of promotion, it’s about time that another song surfaced in its final form.

lady gaga machete killsApplause” was a qualified success across the world, even if it didn’t hit the high watermarks of her biggest hits. But was that an expectation? I don’t know. I like it anyway, and that’s all that mattered to me.

Today a lyric video for “Aura” emerged online, spliced with scenes from Gaga’s cinema debut in “Machete Kills”. Can’t say the film appeals much to me aside from the stunt casting and OTT fantasy violence (Machine gun jubblies? How’d I miss those?). But it’s a flashy video. I guess the song is interrupted by clips of movie audio to stop people ripping the studio version off Youtube.

The opening verse puts me in mind of “Bang Bang”, but the scatterbrained production when it gets going sounds like a natural extension of “Born this way”. Not a particular song, but certainly shades of a few of them. It’s hard to get a good feel of the song with all the movie clips over the audio, but it sounds pretty solid.

lady gaga artpopI hope the production isn’t too rackety, it’s certainly a pretty hard dance beat and full of energy. I wonder if this is going to be the second single, as I think it’s going to be a hard sell at radio. But I’m guessing this is likely to be a ‘buzz single’.

Who knows, it seems from her activity on social media that even she’s not that sure what’s going on. I’m sure it’ll be alright on the night, but to be honest I’m just waiting for the album. This will keep me going for a little longer though, it’s going to be a long month!

1 Comment

Filed under Music, Reviews, Songs

One response to “Single: Lady Gaga – “Aura” (2013)

  1. Pingback: Single: Zedd ft Hayley Williams – “Stay the night” (2014) | Verbal Diarrhoea

Leave a Reply

