Single: Iggy Azalea – “Bounce” (2013)

I feel like I should know something about Iggy Azalea by now. I think I’ve been getting her confused with Azealia Banks, who I also don’t know much about apart from that song everyone seems to like, presumably because she uses the C-word so much.

From what I’ve seen so far, Iggy is like a more credible version of Ke$ha. That in itself doesn’t make her better in my eyes, but undoubtedly that will make a difference to a lot of people. Whatever though, as ever I’m a bit late to the party but I really like “Bounce”.

It ended up as her biggest single so far in the UK, and comes with a really wonderful Bollywood video, no expense spared. Seriously, did the West collectively discover that paint-throwing festival this year, it’s on EVERYTHING.

I suppose it’s like electro hip-hop or something, and does put me in the mind of Ke$ha – strong dance melody, modern beeps and twizzles, and a … distinctive vocal. She’ s not really singing at all, and I have no idea about that accent.

Actually I think it reminds me more of Basement Jaxx now I think about it, they always had an ear for a good tune, and the buildup towards the end really gets me going. It remains to be seen if I’ll like the rest of her output, but at least this is one great single to her name, a lot of people don’t even get that far.

1 Comment

Filed under Music, Reviews, Songs

One response to “Single: Iggy Azalea – “Bounce” (2013)

  1. Pingback: My Top 50 of 2013: #50 – #41 | Verbal Diarrhoea

Leave a Reply

