Single: Miley Cyrus – “We can’t stop” (2013)

TWERK TWERK TWERK, I feel like that’s all I’ve heard about this week, about Miley stole the show with her now notorious performance at the VMAs, where she lurched around the stage, tongue hanging out, ass hanging out, twerking away and eventually getting bummed by Robin Thicke dressed as Beetlejuice.

I think I’ve seen the performance about three times, and at the gym I’d seen the video without audio a bunch of times, but I only just realised that I don’t actually know how the song goes. Maybe it doesn’t matter now, it’s gone so viral that the original product is almost secondary.

Perhaps not totally secondary, as she surprisingly scored her first UK No.1 with the song a few weeks ago, and made No.2 in the United States, her joint-highest position there. Who knows, after last weekend’s display it might even make a push for the top spot.

It makes me feel old though, the song itself is very different to what I expected, it’s even more like a Rihanna song than the latest Selena Gomez song I think. It’s quite chilled out and her voice still makes me think of her country roots, maybe it’s just that accent.

miley bummed by robin thickeI think if you didn’t see any of the visuals, you’d never imagine the video, it’s a bit like when they don’t have a video ready so they just play the audio over a montage of other videos. It’s a bit of an assault on the eyes, I’m not sure what I think about it, apart from a borderline desperate attempt to go viral and get noticed.

This sounds cynical (and I feel fairly justified on that), but the song itself is quite alright, if anything it’s a bit too sedate. It’s a relatable string of cliches about being young and owning the night and not being told what to do etc. Yeah yeah.

All well and good, I just wonder what this “Bangerz” album is going to sound like. If this is anything to go by, it’s just the album Rihanna didn’t bother making. I hope there are a few decent club tracks, and that she puts her tongue away, but I won’t start holding my breath.

1 Comment

Filed under Music, Reviews, Songs

One response to “Single: Miley Cyrus – “We can’t stop” (2013)

  1. Pingback: Single: Miley Cyrus – “Wrecking Ball” (2013) | Verbal Diarrhoea

Leave a Reply

