Turning 30 (again)

OK FINE you got me, I’m 31 today. After tragically failing to win the Pulitzer for my moving post on turning 30 last year, another year has passed. I don’t feel like I’ve really gone anywhere since the last birthday though.

is-mah-birfday-where-r-caek-dammitI mean in literal terms I have of course; I did my coach trip thing around Russia and various other bits of Eastern Europe, I stayed with my friend in Paris, I’ve just got back from a mini-break in Amsterdam, and of course I had a little trip to Malmö, Sweden for a little think called Eurovision.

But in general terms I’m pretty much where I was. Same house, same job, same socks (I need new socks). It’s time for a change, but more on that another day (once I’ve done something about it).

It’s been a reasonable day. I had to work, but fortunately by boss and his boss were both out of the office. I arrived to find a bacon sandwich on my desk, courtesy of my good friend Matt. After a productive but casual morning, I went out for a birthday meal. Although it wasn’t MY birthday meal, it was another woman in the office whose birthday meal was delayed for 2 weeks because of ill health. My birthday meal is in 2 weeks.

The afternoon was a bit fraught and I had to stay late, but got back in time for a very rich meal at my parents’ house, and an overly generous slab of cheesecake. Needless to say I’ll be riding the fart train to the end of the day.

crap cakeMy family aren’t good at presents, but rather than the predicted vouchers for places I never go, cold hard currency seemed to be the way forward, so I’ll have to think of the most reckless way to spend that (maybe those new socks). I got thoughtful presents from my friends, much appreciated – I won’t go into that because I know a handful of them read this blog and that makes it weird. So not a bad haul, all things said and done. I was just grateful for the attention really.

I’m following other peoples’ leads though by dragging it out as long as I can. I think 2 days is as far as I can stretch though, so tomorrow night I’m going out for drinks. Last year everyone was driving so I was the only one really drinking – I was home by 8.30, being sick by 8.35 and asleep by 9.00. I know how to party. Let’s see how we get on this time. No shots please, colourful cocktails will do fine.

I don’t really know where this post is going. I’m dwelling on the material gains so I don’t have to think about how I’m another year older, and an even more withered bit of fruit on the vine still. Yeah, let’s not go there.

I was lacking in inspiration of what else to put on this blog post as I’m just TIRED. I thought of the previous sentence and thought this video pretty much sums that up. Laterz! xx

Leave a comment

Filed under Talking rubbish again

Leave a Reply

