The Longest Day

In so many ways today was the longest day. OK well in two ways. Today is the Summer solstice, or Midsummer, the longest day of the year. The most daylight hours of the year, for you pedants. In the Northern hemisphere anyway. It’ll still be 24 hours long or thereabouts.

mushroom cloudIt certainly FELT long, events outside my control made this a bitch of a day at work, and I’ve only just got in. Not much point recounting what went wrong or what I had to do, but let’s just say I knew it would be a busy day if everything went right, and it didn’t go right.

Weird to think we are on the slope back down to Christmas now, though I can barely remember it. It was a bit nondescript, I miss the time off at least.

But tonight I’m taking some well-deserved R&R at my sister’s house, where I will add to the mound of junk crap I ate today – so far there have been several pieces of flapjack and caramel shortcake, a Subway sandwich (that wasn’t too bad), a pack of crisps, a cookie, a bottle of fat Coke… and I stayed at work too late to do the gym. Failure.

So I’m sorry for the brief and uninteresting blog post, I only usually do these diary things when I’ve got no time to write anything else and the drivel just pours out of me. I will try harder at the weekend, with another dollop of Eurovision countdown and an album review if you’re into that sort of thing.

At least I can control my Animal Crossing life to some extent. Is that a measure of success? Probably not.

A reward for getting to the end of this post, here’s a beautiful rendition of… oh I’ll let you guess. It’s on an exasperatingly shrill instrument called the Otamatone from Japan. I can’t watch this without laughing…

Happy Midsummer to anyone out there who celebrates that sort of thing!

Leave a comment

Filed under Talking rubbish again

Leave a Reply

