Film: “Star Trek – Into Darkness” (2013)

Am I a Trekkie? How do I qualify? I used to watch “The Next Generation” when I was a teen, and I really liked it. Perhaps I didn’t give it my full attention, but I think it stands as one of the best sci-fi shows. “Deep Space Nine” never did it for me, and I never really had the exposure to the original series despite being well aware of the iconic main cast.

Oh and “Voyager”, I nearly forgot! Loved that, I remember when they launched that … I should watch them again. I’ve seen all the movies too … maybe I am a fledgling Trekkie. Who knew? Trekkie or not, I love a blockbuster, and there are few bigger than the reboot of the Star Trek franchise. The first of the new films was brilliant, and left me with a feeling of disappointment that I don’t work on a starship.

With the Trek timeline in disarray after the last film, anything could happen. Though perhaps taking some inspiration from the “Lost” universe part-created by director JJ Abrams and writer Damon Lindelof, there are still common motifs and a sense of history sort-of-repeating. Maybe you can’t create a new timeline, just take a few detours along the way.

Now to fill time I would normally outline the plot of the film, but I’m not doing it this time. Watch the trailer for all the good it will do, but I’m not going to spoil any of the twists and turns and red herrings this film provides. All I can do is recommend that you just go and see it.

star trek into darknessThe main characters are as well-painted as ever, and their respective actors embody those characters about as well as you could dream. Some take a bit of a back-seat in all the action, Chekhov in particular, but I suppose that’s the cost of having such strong interplay between Kirk and the chillingly intense villain played by Benedict Cumberbatch. Benedict felt like a real menace, and while he might lack the iconic quotes and image of the big Trek baddies, he commanded the screen with silent intensity and fiendish manipulation.

I just didn’t feel like there was a weak link in the cast, the story, the effects, it was a triumph. The string of red herrings and double-crosses did wear me out a little bit, there was hardly pause for breath between the various set-pieces and conflicts. Even the stealthy infiltration of a spacecraft was played for a dangerous and effect-heavy sequence. In that respect it did leave you a little numb to the constant peril being faced, but the overall result was a pretty thrilling finale.

Oh what more can I say? Just see it, it’s great. I think I’m going to nerd out and start watching old shows. Here’s a trailer – just don’t bother trying to second-guess the story based on it, you’ll fail!

1 Comment

Filed under Films, Reviews

One response to “Film: “Star Trek – Into Darkness” (2013)

  1. Pingback: My Top 40 Movies of 2013 | Verbal Diarrhoea

Leave a Reply

