Film: “Les Misérables” (2013)

Les Mis? More like LAME AS!

Oh not really, I’d just been sitting on THAT badboy for a while. The truth is, I knew broadly what I was letting myself in for, as would most people I think, since “Les Misérables” is one of the most famous musicals there is. I just didn’t really have it down as Oscar bait, but here we are, 8 nominations later – including Best Picture, Best Actor (for Wolverine) and Best Supporting Actress (for Catwoman).

Les Miserables movie posterFor what it’s worth, it was going to be a hard sell for me. I’m never one for tearfully shouting BRAVA at the screen, and this did little to change that. I can hardly criticise a musical for having too many songs – sure there was some dead wood I could have done without, some reprises wouldn’t have hurt – but I guess it’s just a LONG film. I suppose it’s the singers that didn’t really set many of the songs off, often filled with squawky peasant choruses, or the croaky tones of the lead male roles.

Anne stole the show in this respect for “I dreamed a dream”. She certainly gave it her all, and it was a shame her role in the film was so small (in screentime at least). Everyone was certainly trying their best, perhaps some of the revolutionary young men were a bit hammy, but I can’t say it lacked passion.

Maybe that’s my problem, I didn’t feel that there were any roles that really resonated with me. Twinned with a majority of the songs not doing a lot for me, it just felt a little padded out. The story itself was ambitious and full of high drama, I can at least see why it has lasted so long.

Production values too were pretty lavish, even though they tried to force a lot of reality in by the almost constant presence of Shakycam, always up in the cast’s faces. Eddie Redmayne looks too much like a freckly sixth-former to take such scrutiny!

So I don’t feel like I’ve wasted my time, but it’s another one to add to the colossal pile of “Critically Acclaimed” films that I didn’t quite see the fuss about. Would a SuBo cameo have killed them?

1 Comment

Filed under Films, Reviews

One response to “Film: “Les Misérables” (2013)

  1. Pingback: My Top 40 Movies of 2013 | Verbal Diarrhoea

Leave a Reply

