One mistake

This has been a shitty day, so I don’t want to spend ages on a blog post, I just want to go to sleep. I’m hungry but I don’t want to eat.

It kicked off with my unofficial (or at least unpaid) taxi service taking my housemate to uni, picking up my work friend on the way. The uni was closed for ‘health and safety’ reasons because of the snow, and I didn’t really have much choice but to take him all the way back home. Work friend was freaking out so I dropped him off at the office en route.

40 minutes late, I arrived for a busy day at work. But then a simple task in the morning turned into a horror, as I sent out some incorrect exam results to students. In the scale of things, it was as minor as it could get, but it didn’t stop things turning into a drama that engulfed most of my day.

My superiors were in meetings most of the day, so I wasn’t able to tell the director of my department. He hates me already, so I’m sure I’ll get a load of shit for that. You only make one mistake in this job, and that’s all you are, no matter how much good work you’ve done.

So now I’ve got to think about that all night. It was solely my fault, and was made in a way that was undetectable by our checks, and only uncovered when the client realised it was wrong.

Work friend tried to console me, totally misunderstanding that I wasn’t misled by incorrect information, I just made a mistake and nobody else could have spotted it. Then in a weird twist he had a go at me for having milk and bread in my diet (which I rarely have). I mean WTF. I just want to go to bed, but it’s 6pm.

No amount of funny cat videos is going to make this better. Sorry about this miserable post, maybe I’ll have time for more variety when I get fired.

5 Comments

Filed under Talking rubbish again

5 responses to “One mistake

  1. NyNy

    I’m sorry you had a terrible day. I hope things get better for you x

    Also, do you or anyone you know who writes stories preferably short stories? Why not post more of your fiction there, review others and get some inspiration from other writers? You can build up an audience around your story by starting small writing short stories now and allowing your readers to download and share with others. If you are aiming to be an author, novelist or writer, this is a great way to start to market your stories online. So please check out the site: http://readwave.com

Leave a Reply

