Snow more drama

The UK is GRIPPED today as massive snowdrifts cover much of the country. I was sent home at 12.30 because the roads were getting treacherous, and a panicked workforce fled to their homes before it got worse.

Snow on carsAll of that is true, apart from the bit about massive snowdrifts. I’ve got about 2 or 3 inches of snow outside, and while it has made the roads trickier to drive on, we’ve had a LOT worse in the last 3 years. This is sufficient to cause a major panic in this country these days. We don’t get anywhere near the snowfall of Scandinavia, or the Northern Hemisphere as a whole, warmed slightly as we are by the Gulf stream in the Atlantic. Yet we seem incapable of behaving rationally when the level of snow exceeds “picturesque”.

I admit, I’m no fan of driving on slippy roads, but I’m sure we can cope. It’s not solely the local council or government’s fault either, for not coating every cul-de-sac in salt, it’s also partly the public’s fault for not losing their shit in these situations. People have been talking about the oncoming snow since Monday, like it was the end of days approaching.

It’s inconvenient, but I was able to work from home, and even get more work done that I probably would have at the office. I’ve had a nice bath, done my ironing already, finished off that cold pizza from Tuesday (hmm…) and read my newspaper. I’m a WINNER!

Tomorrow I’m going to power through my dwindling list of chores, eat a proper breakfast and then … well I haven’t got that far yet, but it’ll be amazing.

I decided I might get Lorraine Pascale’s “Baking Make Easy” and tell you all how I get on. It looks pretty simple, and as I’ve said on many occasions, the “Swiss Roll Bowl Cake” post is easily my most-visited post aside from Eurovision-related material. Today so far, I’ve had 19 hits from Israel, 14 of which were searching for לוריין פסקל (Lorraine Pascale in Hebrew). It’s insane, is her show just being shown all over the world??? I’ve had weird spikes in searches from random countries all month! Maybe I’ll make that infamous Swiss Roll Bowl Cake one day too!

Since my love of cats freaking out is well documented, here’s a video of a cat getting freaked out by snow.

2 Comments

Filed under Talking rubbish again

2 responses to “Snow more drama

  1. NyNy

    Of course it was great most people got to go home and children from school and work but don’t you think the UK is terrible with snow? In countries such as Russia, Korea or even some parts of America they are prepared for the snow and they get much more than we do!

    Yes, the snow in the UK was bad but in comparison to other countries this isn’t much to them. We deal with rain so much that we aren’t really used to other weather and we panic and close everything down! At least that’s the way I see it!!

    • I know right? Thank God it seems to be melting a bit now. I don’t know how they do it in other countries though, you’re right that we don’t get it anywhere near as bad as other places.

      I was in Iceland last year and was all worried because we woke up for the early flight home, but it was snowingly heavily (for the UK anyway), but the planes were fine. They just send a few snowploughs down the runway before a plane leaves!

Leave a Reply

