Everybody loves a medley

Sam TsuiWell I do anyway, and it’s my blog so NER. I don’t know what it is about them, but they are amazing, and the Youtube era has produced many people obviously talented at mixing songs (and videos) into ever more decadent displays of awesome pop music.

Since we’ve just had New Year, there have been plenty of medleys with the year’s hits. Also since I have a migraine and I want to go and have a bath, I’m not going to write a lot, and just let you enjoy a few that I’ve been enjoying recently.

I’d not heard of Pop Danthology before, but he’s done end-of-year medleys for 2010, 2011 and 2012, the latest of which is below:

DJ Earworm has been a reliably amazing mixer too, only he’s set himself a challenge each year (for quite a few, maybe since 2008?) to make a medley of the year’s Billboard year-end top 25 songs, something easier said than done considering some of the tracks he’s then forced to include. As a result they can be a little hit-and-miss, but here’s a great one (2009 was pretty good too):

Finally, it’s one thing to mix these songs, but another to sing a medley. I’ve been aware of Sam Tsui for a while, ever since some fan cover version compilation of Lady Gaga songs, bizarrely. He’s got a great voice, and while he’s got a severe case of boyband cheese-face at times, I think he’s pretty awesome. Also who else would do a Britney medley, I mean really? Lovely. Here’s a hits compilation from 2011:

And it’s not a medley but I love his version of Titanium so much it hurts!:

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Songs

Leave a Reply

