My Kylie Top 30: #20 – #11

Time for another helping of Kylie’s best tracks – or at least my favourites … what are yours?

20. Some kind of bliss (from Impossible Princess)

Lead single from that difficult… um… sixth album. Didn’t really go to plan, to say the least, but tried to launch her “indie” (i.e. has guitars) career with a hand from James Dean Bradfield from the Manic Street Preachers. It comes out only a bit more indie than a Kym Marsh single, but it’s a nice fresh feeling spring track, with some lovely STRINGS (you know what I’m like with strings).

Happily it’s not now her lowest peaking single to date, it always deserved better than that label.

19. Turn it into love (from Kylie)

Another of the few representatives from the early years, going right back to the first album now. I didn’t really like most of the stuff during that era, seemed too many cutesy bits about boys and love and boys breaking hearts ETC ETC. But this seemed to have a lot more depth to it. I’m not crazy on the tone of voice, it’s quite high for most of it, must give her a sore throat singing it. Probably, I don’t know.

18. Magnetic Electric (from X)

I noted earlier that this sounded basically like a Dragonette song, which is NO bad thing, it’s even like a GOOD Dragonette single. Only made the cut as a bonus track from X which is a shame, I could happily have thrown a few of the tracks under the bus in favour of this. A naughty-but-nice electro slutfest, firmly on the right side of the line that Kylie seems to tightrope over when making songs like this.

17. Where the wild roses grow (from Murder Ballads)

A weird one now, and only the 2nd most unusual Kylie death behind that incident with the fork-lift truck, the disabled man and the Space Titanic… Anyway a gorgeous waltz duet with the horrifying Nick Cave. I love her deep vocals on there, that chorus is beautiful too. I suppose the death isn’t SO unexpected given its appearance on Murder Ballads, but it’s evidently news to poor Eliza Day.

16. Put yourself in my place (from Kylie Minogue)

I hate to say it but apart from a few notable moments I didn’t really get on with the KM94 album, a bit too much style over substance. I don’t mind though, it seems to please plenty of others and I always have the later albums in any case. Happily though there are exceptions to this, and this laid-back ballad really is wonderful. The space video with the … interestingly shaped spacecraft is colourful and marvellous. That “I hear that you’re in love now…” bridge still sounds great nearly 18 years (!) later.

15. Can’t get you out of my head (from Fever)

Time to get one of the biggies out of the way now, in fact THE biggie by any stretch of the imagination. I have a bit of a troubled relationship with this one, obviously at the time is was a magnificent return to form, and the Fever album – as I have said repeatedly – is mostly amazing. But something about this song leaves me a bit cold these days. The video is iconic (I try to avoid using that word unless absolutely fitting), and it secured probably most of her 00s output. I have warmed up to it again during my investigations this year, explaining its placement in the top 15, but let’s see where it ends up in a few years.

14. Especially for you (from Enjoy Yourself)

OK there aren’t a lot of random tracks in the upper echelons on my chart, but I suppose this is the one that will attract most of the criticism. I’d love to say it’s a rather crass cash-in on the Kylie & Jason mania rife at the start of the 90s, and that’s probably what it is. But somehow they managed to also make it a really sweet love song that I’ve loved for most of my life. It’s really probably my earliest Kylie song, so it has a special place in my heart in that respect.

Lest we forget this is her OTHER million seller…

13. Love at first sight (from Fever)

Back to Fever now, time for the third single to take a bow. Really perfect pop song in my opinion, especially as someone who was totally in love with a lot of early 00s pop/dance music. It has that superb video where she’s obviously having the time of her life in a strange CGI courtyard inhabited by virtual pizza delivery men.

It did strike me that this is quite a strange song to sing along to, I think it does rely quite a lot on the production, the tune is a little strange on its own somehow. But anyway, BRAVO

12. Stars (from X)

X was a funny old album wasn’t it? Some really horrific moments, but for every ‘nu-di-ty’ there was some amazing moment like this. I can see why it never got a release as a single (not least because they made a total fuckup of the whole campaign), but this has just grown and grown for me.

Can’t quite put my finger on why I love this so much, it’s got a great mix of pop sensibilities and commercial dance production, maybe that’s all I want from Kylie.

11. Red blooded woman (from Body Language)

Right, last one for now. A slutty RnB tinged followup to the spiky uncommercial Slow, and she gets back on the playlists with what people criticised for being a blatant attempt at an American crossover. Apart from vaguely Timbaland-style electro flourishes I don’t QUITE see it myself, but whatever. BOY BOY! That just has so many little hooks, and earlier this year it revealed itself to me as one of my most fondly remembered Kylie tracks. It was a surprise to me too…

You’ll never get to heaven if you’re scaredagettinHIIIIIGGGGHH!

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Reviews, Songs

Leave a Reply

