Road to Baku 2012: Nina Zilli – “L’Amore È Femmina” (Italy)

And so we come to the last of the “Big Five”. Maybe I’ve explained it enough, but Italy is the newest addition to this select group of the biggest financial contributors to the EBU, and as such as given a ‘free’ pass to the final.

The logic is that the Eurovision couldn’t afford to continue without the contributions of these countries. A slight flaw in that logic is that Italy only returned to the contest last year after a 14-year hiatus, and we managed until then. Still, it was always a sad thing to see on the maps that one of the biggest countries in Europe wasn’t playing.

Italy haven’t participated for pretty much my whole Eurovision life, so it’s almost a little odd to see them back in the contest. But it seems Europe were very welcoming, and Italy pulled off an astonishing result last year by getting 2nd place. I was a little baffled, but I can SORT OF see the appeal in their entry.

Prior to their hiatus, Italy was one of the original countries in the very first contest, and in their almost 40 entries to date they managed to win twice, and pick up a handful of top 3 finishes, including last year.

Fortunately for me, this year’s entry is really rather good, so I’m open to the idea of Italy having another good year, even though I have no idea how likely that is. Was last year just a fluke? Nina Zilli will shortly find out…

That dirty saxophone intro is great, and we skip quickly into Winehouse-esque throwback mode. It’s very 60’s-sounding, and Nina is an striking woman, and struts around like the embodiment of the Italian maneater stereotype.

I think I preferred this as an Italian-language track but as always there are certain benefits to having English parts to any entry in terms of universal understanding. I love some of the Italian bits though, particularly that “Tutti frutti svatti” bit (or whatever it is). I can see Nina really doing well, but will the curse of the Big Four finally catch up with Italy?

Click “Eurovision 2012” at the top of the page to find links to all my ESC2012 write-ups! I’m pre-blogging these last few because I’m in France for the weekend, so bear with me!

1 Comment

Filed under Baku 2012, Eurovision, Music, Reviews

One response to “Road to Baku 2012: Nina Zilli – “L’Amore È Femmina” (Italy)

  1. Pingback: Eurovision 2012: Grand Final set-list & preview | Verbal Diarrhoea

Leave a Reply

