Road to Baku 2012: Trackshittaz – “Woki mit deim Popo” (Austria)

You’ll have to forgive me, Austria are a bit of a blind-spot for me, mainly because they’ve only recently come back to the contest after a 4-year hiatus. Last year they had a rather lovely ballad by Nadine Beiler which really grew on me. Perhaps it wasn’t everyone’s cup of tea, I heard some Germans referring to it as “Whitney Houston-schiesse”, which I can understand despite my limited German…

While Nadine finally managed to get them back into the final, having never qualified since the semi-final system came in, Austria have never had a strong record at Eurovision.

They do have one win to their name, back in 1966, but seven last-place finishes too. Let’s just say that they’ve never quite his a winning streak in the same way as some countries have. This is partly down to their fondness for sending comedy entries, and this is unfortunately the tactic they have resorted to this year.

The horrifically named “Trackshittaz” (maybe it’s just lost in translation) are an Austrian hip-hop boyband according to Wikipedia, I don’t blame you if you are getting a little unsure already. In practice is sounds more akin to a German-language LMFAO. Maybe not what you want, but at least it might translate across Europe in the same way LMFAO did.

“Woki mit deim Popo” translates as “Shake your ass”, and goodness me they are fond of asses, judging by the liberal use of the word “Popo” throughout the track. Perhaps the most troubling thing about this is that it’s really insanely catchy. I have had a lot of songs in my head from Eurovsion this year, but this comes up a LOT. Follows of this year’s Melodifestivalen might be reminded of Sean Banan’s entry in a similar vein.

I have NO idea how this will do on the night, Austria have a poor record for qualifying, but this is a bit of a wildcard entry. Juries will probably hate them, but what about the public? I can’t call it.

I’m going to plug the “Eurovision 2012” tab at the top of the page, your gateway to all the other ESC2012 entries I’ve reviewed so far, constantly updated!

2 Comments

Filed under Baku 2012, Eurovision, Music, Reviews

2 responses to “Road to Baku 2012: Trackshittaz – “Woki mit deim Popo” (Austria)

  1. Dinlo

    I could see this being 2012’s Zdob si Zdub. Hopefully Russia will drain away some of its votes too.

  2. Pingback: Eurovision 2012: Semi-Final 1 preview | Verbal Diarrhoea

Leave a Reply

