Single: Kate Bush – “Sat in your lap” (1981)

This is much easier, one song at a time … let’s see how long I’ll think to carry it on.

After the very current J.Lo song last night, iTunes threw out 1981’s lead single from Kate Bush’s “The Dreaming”. I find it great that this made it as high as No.11 in the UK, almost impossible to imagine how something as … let’s say ‘acquired’ as this lumpy unusual creature of a song was part of the mainstream musical landscape at any point in time.

I got into Kate Bush as a total unknown in the same way I’m reviewing the Bjork albums, i.e. just loaded each album in order, one at a time onto my iPod and listened to them for a few weeks in their entirety before reviewing and keeping the best bits. It’s really one of the most rewarding artists I’ve introduced to myself.

Not that it’s been easy, she’s experimental to the point of alienation sometimes, but when she gets it right she’s a fascinating artist and has some really uniquely brilliant tracks.

So what about this one? A bit of a jambalaya of sounds, some fun piano, odd space-invaders effects, manic brassy noises. Then her voice veers from cheeky to shrieking harpy. I get her impatience “I want to be a lawyer, I want to be a scholar, but I really can’t be bothered, oh just gimme it quick, gimme it, GIMMEGIMMEGIMME”… never fails to raise a smile.

There’s some more male accompaniment towards the end, some rather dramatic moments to finish the song, my head feels like it’s spinning by the end, and that’s one of her more lucid moments …

“The Dreaming” isn’t for everyone, it has some truly surreal moments – check out “Get out of my house” for some good reasons why it’s not a good idea to try a home invasion on this woman. Above all, give her a go, it doesn’t begin and end with Wuthering Heights and Babooshka.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Reviews, Songs

Leave a Reply

